Sebastián Correa Ruíz


TEAM: Tax and exchange law and Estate planning.


  • Leiden University – LLM in Advanced Studies in International and European Business Law.
  • Columbia University – Summer Program in American Law.
  • Universidad Externado de Colombia – Postgraduate degree in Tax Law
  • Universidad EAFIT – Lawyer.
  • Languages: Spanish and English.

Professional Career

Leader of the Firm’s tax law and Estate planning practices.

His experience and knowledge on tax and corporate law have allowed Sebastián to advise important local and foreign companies on topics related to mergers, demergers, corporate reorganization, joint ventures, managing corporate conflicts, due diligence processes and defining efficient systems for business and mergers and acquisitions (M&A) tax structuring in companies from various economic sectors.

He has advised a significant number of business families in the country on organizing and managing their wealth.

Sebastián’s professional career began as an attorney of the Secretaría General de Inversiones Mundial S.A. He then associated with important law firms in Medellín and Bogotá.

He was a Commercial Business Law professor at Universidad EAFIT and economic analysis of law researcher for the same university.

He is an Arbitrator for the Conciliation, Arbitration and Amicable Composition Center of the Chamber of Commerce of Medellín.

Awards and Recognitions

Sebastián was an Academic Excellence Scholarship recipient at Leiden University, and scholarship recipient from COLFUTURO and the Medellín Mayor’s Office’s Enlaza Mundos Program.

During the year he attended his Master’s program in the Netherlands, he participated as Leiden University’s representative at The European Law Moot Court Competition, the most important court simulation competition on European law issues. His team was first place in writing, with the award for Best Written Pleadings.

Sebastián was a special guest at the Biennial International Bar Association’s (IBA) Latin American Conference as recipient of the Rogelio de la Guardia scholarship in 2012.